Watercraft Rentals Available at Black Bear Lodge
Persons required to have successfully completed a boater education course must carry their boater education certificate on board and make it available upon request by a law enforcement officer.
Visit the DNR website at dnr.wi.gov and enter the keyword "boat safety" to find boat safety Education Courses or click here - https://www.boat-ed.com/wisconsinrental/.
Canoes, Kayaks, Rowboats, Paddleboards, and Paddleboats are complimentary, and are located on the water’s edge by the beach. They are available to our guests on a first come first serve basis.
Pontoon boats, wave runners, and rowboats with 8hp motors are available for rent, and must be reserved through the front desk at (715)479-5778 or (800)563-4340.
Afterhours (5pm - 9am) call 715-340-0060.
Current rates can be found here: Black Bear Lodge Pontoon / Boat Rental Rates.
Wisconsin DNR rules related to watercraft operation can be found here: Wisconsin Boating Laws and Responsibilities.
Black Bear Lodge adheres to the laws of the Department of Natural Resources and requests all operators of both motorboat rentals and personal watercraft rentals to follow the boating laws and responsibilities set forth in the waterway’s informational handbook.
To Summarize Operating a Motorboat:
- No persons under the age of 10 may operate a motorboat.
- A person aged 10 or 11 may operate a motorboat only if accompanied by a parent or guardian and if that parent or guardian holds a valid boating safety certificate or was born before January 1, 1989.
- A person aged 12 – 15-year-old may operate a motorboat only if accompanied by a parent or guardian and that parent or guardian holds a valid boating safety certificate or was born before January 1, 1989. Or… if the person aged 12 – 15 has completed a boating safety course that is accepted by the Wisconsin DNR.
- A person aged 16 or who was born on or after January 1, 1989 (32 yrs. old) may operate a motorboat only if they have completed a boating safety course accepted by the Wisconsin DNR Or… is accompanied by another person in the motorboat who is at least age 18 years and that person hold a valid boating safety certificate or was born before January 1, 1989.
To Summarize Operating a Personal Watercraft (PWC):
- No persons under the age of 12 may operate a PWC.
- A person 12 – 15 may operate a PWC only if they have completed a boating safety course accepted by the Wisconsin DNR. (Parental Supervision for person in this age bracket is not a substitute for a boating safety course certificate as with other motorboats.
- A person at least 16 years of age may operate a PWC only if they have completed a boating safety course accepted by the Wisconsin DNR. A person born before January 1, 1989 is exempt from the safety course requirement.
- A person 16 year of age or younger may not rent or lease a PWC.
To Summarize Towing Skiers and Innertubes:
- A person may not be towed between sunset and sunrise.
- When towing a person on any device, the operator of the vessel must have another competent person on board to act as an observer.
- A PWC operator must not tow a person behind a PWC unless that PWC is designed and recommended by the manufacturer to accommodate at least 3 people and…. A competent observer is on board and in position to observe the person being towed.
- Any persons towing people and the persons being towed must act in a safe and prudent manner.
- Any vessels towing a person may not come within 100 feet of any occupied boat, any PWC, any marked swimming area or public boat landing.
- The person being towed behind a vessel must not come within 100 feet of a PWC.
Pontoon information below made available to us by their manufacturers: